Return to site

President Trump Signs Laws Creating the United States Space Force

By: Politicized News

On Friday, December 20, 2019, President Trump signed into law Senate Bill 1790, the National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2020. Sponsored by Senator Jim Inhofe (R-OK), the $738 billion appropriations bill has a high degree of bipartisan support, passing the House 377 for and 68 against, and the Senate 86 for and 8 against. Among the almost 2,000 page document is a notable and historic addition to the United States Armed Forces: The establishment of the United States Space Force (USSF).

CNN reports that U.S. Air Force (USAF) officials have expressed that the number of personnel transferred from the USAF to the USSF could reach 15,000. This would make the USSF the smallest Armed Uniformed Service, ranking above the U.S. Marine Corps’ over 220,000 marines. The Department of Defense requested over $72 million in funding for its inaugural fiscal year; the House of Representatives responded with $40 million instead.
Chief of Space Operations General John “Jay” Raymond will be the USSF’s first commander. General Raymond graduated from Clemson University with a degree in Administrative Management and was commissioned into the USAF in 1984. He has been in service since 1984, having served in the Iraq War and the War in Afghanistan. He is the recipient of two Legion of Merits awards, two Defense Superior Service Medals, and two Air Force Distinguished Service Medals. General Raymon became a four-star General in October of 2016.
At the signing ceremony, President Trump expressed that the “2020 National Defense Authorization Act is about making sure our warfighters have the tools, resources, and equipment you need to fight and to win. ... We’re making our military stronger and more powerful than ever before.” On the creation of the USSF, President Trump said that it “something really incredible. It’s a big moment. That’s a big moment, and we’re all here for it. Space. Going to be a lot of things happening in space.”
Notably, Senators Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Cory Booker (D-NJ), and Bernie Sanders (I-VT) all abstained from the vote. Representative Tulsi Gabbard (D-HI2) voted against the bill.

All Posts

Almost done…

We just sent you an email. Please click the link in the email to confirm your subscription!