Return to site

House of Representatives Impeaches President Trump for "Abuse of Power" and "Obstruction of Congress"

By: Politicized News

· Domestic Policy

In the evening of December 18, 2019, the United States House of Representatives voted on House Resolution 755, “Impeaching Donald John Trump, President of the United States, for high crimes and misdemeanors,” submitted by House Judiciary Committee Chairman Jerry Nadler (D-NY10). The House voted by majority to pass the Resolution, making President Trump the third U.S. President in American history to be impeached. Here are some highlights from that historic night.

On Article I, for Abuse of Power, 230 voted in favor of impeachment, 197 voted against impeachment, one abstained, and three did not vote. On Article II, for Obstruction of Congress, 229 voted in favor of impeachment, 198 voted against impeachment, one abstained, and three did not vote.

The votes were mainly across party lines, except for some notable outliers. Representative Justin Amash (I-MI3) voted in favor of impeachment of President Trump for both charges. Representatives Collin C. Peterson (D-MI7) and Van Drew (D-NJ2) voted against impeachment of President Trump for both charges, and Representative Jared F. Golden (D-ME2) voted against Article II. Representative Tulsi Gabbard (HI-2) was the only Representative to abstain from voting for both charges. Representatives José E. Serrano (NY-15), Duncan D. Hunter (CA-50), and John M. Shimkus (IL-15) were all absent from the votes.

Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi (D-CA12) praised her party’s Representatives for their moral integrity, and expressed that the House Democrats “did not” whip votes for impeachment.

Chairman Jerry Nadler spoke, expressing that “it is Congress’ duty to hold the President -- any President -- accountable.”

Chairman of the House Intelligence Committee Adam B. Schiff (D-CA28) expressed that now it is up to Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) to hold a fair trial of President Trump. (EDITOR’S NOTE: Chief Justice of the Supreme Court John Roberts is Constitutionally responsible for presiding over the Trial.)

Representative Gabbard, hopeful for the Democratic Presidential nomination, expressed that though she did not vote in favor of impeachment, she plans on introducing a resolution to censure the President.

All Posts

Almost done…

We just sent you an email. Please click the link in the email to confirm your subscription!